African-American Members of the Tennessee General Assembly 1873—2016

Representative Sampson W. Keeble
Representative John W. Boyd
Representative Thomas A. Sykes
Representative Thomas F. Cassels
Representative Isham F. Norris
Representative Samuel A. McElwee
Representative David F. Rivers
Representative Leonard Howard
Representative Greene E. Evans
Representative William A. Fields
Representative William C. Hodge
Representative Styles L. Hutchins
Representative Monroe W. Gooden
Representative A. W. Willis, Jr.
Representative J. O. Patterson, Jr.
Representative Dorothy Lavinia Brown
Representative R. B. Sugarman, Jr.
Representative M.G. Blakemore
Representative Harold Love
Representative Alvin King
Senator J. O. Patterson Jr.
Senator Avon Williams, Jr.
Representative Ira Murphy
Representative Robert Booker
Representative James I. Taylor
Representative Charles Pruitt
Representative Harold Ford
Representative Lois DeBerry
Representative Harper Brewer
Senator John Ford
Representative C.B. Robinson
Representative Teddy Withers
Representative Emmitt Ford
Senator Ed Davis
Representative Rufus E. Jones
Representative Roscoe Dixon
Senator Roscoe Dixon
Representative Charles Drew
Representative Mary Pruitt
Representative Larry Turner
Representative Ulysses Jones Jr.
Representative Joe Armstrong
Senator Thelma Harper
Representative Tommie F. Brown
Representative Henri E. Brooks
Representative Bretran Thompson
Representative Larry Miller
Representative Kathryn I. Bowers
Representative Edith Taylor Langster
Representative Joe Towns, Jr.
Representative John F. DeBerry, Jr.
Representative Barbara W. Cooper
Representative Darbara W. Cooper

(R-Davidson)	1873-1874
(R-Tipton)	1881-1884
(R-Davidson)	1881-1882
(R-Shelby)	1881-1882
(R-Shelby)	1881-1882
(R-Haywood)	1883-1888
(R-Fayette)	1883-1884
(R-Shelby)	1883-1884
(R-Shelby)	1885-1886
(R-Shelby)	1885-1886
(R-Hamilton)	1885-1886
(R-Hamilton)	1887-1888
(D-Fayette)	1887-1888
(D-Shelby)	1965-1968
(D-Shelby)	1967-1968
(D-Davidson)	1967-1968
(D-Shelby)	1967-1968
(D-Davidson)	1967-1970
(D-Davidson)	1969-1994
(D-Shelby)	1969-1992
(D-Shelby)	1969-1974
(D-Davidson)	1969-1990
(D-Shelby)	1969-1982
(D-Knox)	1969-1972
(D-Shelby)	1969-1972
(D-Shelby)	1909-1970
(D-Shelby) (D-Shelby)	1971-1974 1973-2013
(D-Shelby)	1973-2013
•	1975-2006
(D-Shelby)	1975-1992
(D-Hamilton)	
(D-Shelby)	1975-1984
(D-Shelby)	1975-1980
(D-Shelby)	1979-1994
(D-Shelby)	1981-1996
(D-Shelby)	1983-1994
(D-Shelby)	1995-2005
(R-Knox)	1983-1988
(D-Davidson)	1985-2012
(D-Shelby)	1985-2009
(D-Shelby)	1987-2010
(D-Knox)	1989-Present
(D-Davidson)	1991-Present
(D-Hamilton)	1993-2012
(D-Shelby)	1993-2006
(D-Shelby)	1993-1994
(D-Shelby)	1993-Present
(D-Shelby)	1995-2005
(D-Davidson)	1995-2006
(D-Shelby)	1995-Present
(D-Shelby)	1995-Present
(D-Shelby)	1997-Present

Representative Johnny Shaw	(D-Hardeman/Madison)	2001-Present
Representative Nathan Vaughn	(D-Sullivan)	2003-2008
Senator Sidney Chism	(D-Shelby)	Feb-May 2005
Senator Kathryn I. Bowers	(D-Shelby)	May 2005-2006
Representative JoAnne H. Favors	(D-Hamilton)	2005-Present
Representative Gary L. Rowe	(D-Shelby)	2005- Jan 2008
Representative Eddie Neal	(D-Shelby)	Jan-Mar 2007
Senator Ophelia Ford	(D-Shelby)	2007-2014
Senator Reginald Tate	(D-Shelby)	2007-Present
Representative Karen Camper	(D-Shelby)	2007-Present
Representative Brenda Gilmore	(D-Davidson)	2007-Present
Representative G. A. Hardaway	(D-Shelby)	Mar 2007-Present
Representative Johnnie R. Turner	(D-Shelby)	2009-Present
Representative Antonio Parkinson	(D-Shelby)	2011-Present
Representative Harold M. Love Jr.	(D-Davidson)	2013-Present
Representative Raumesh Akbari	(D-Shelby)	2013-Present
Senator Lee Harris	(D-Shelby)	2015-Present

List prepared with the assistance of digital resources from the Tennessee State University Library: <u>http://ww2.tnstate.edu/library/digital/members.html</u>